top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Most important things I've learned as a teen

Hey guys!

SO...I'm so close to becoming an "official" adult. I know people say you become an adult when you turn eighteen, (i thought so too), but my parents told me it's when your age no longer has TEEN at the end. 20...I'm almost there.

Through my teenage years, like most people, I learned A LOT...a lot, a lot.

I learned things about myself, and really started figuring myself out, who I REALLY was.

I learned about other people, my future, and most importantly, GOD.

I know these years can be really confusing, as they were for me, so these are the most important things I've learned through the years.

1. STAY TRUE TO YOURSELF

Many times we find ourselves trying to fit in, be involved in what everyone else is doing. Too often I see people completelty losing themselves in trying to be like the cool kids. Sure you can follow the trends, be involved in school activities, have a variety of friends. Staying true to yourself doesn't mean you have to lock yourself in a room so that you don't get too caught up in what everyone else is doing, it simply means..in whatever you do, always be YOU.

2. YOU ARE WHO YOUR FRIENDS ARE

I wish I could explain this to every freshmen going into high school. Being in a new enviroment, seeing tons of new people, making new friends, wanting to roll with the cool crowd...it'll kill ya. (not literally). You see and hear tons of new things in high school. People ditch class, everyone is making out in the hallways, the restrooms smell like weed, fights break out during passing periods. It's overwhelming and when you do not have a stable group of friends...before you know it you're getting involved in the crazy things your new "friends" are doing. This still makes sense to this day...I'm not saying to judge anyone..but take a look at a group of friends...they're all doing the same things...is there just ONE friend who stands out because they're different?...most times the answer is no. Be careful, do not fall into the peer pressure, it can be so hard to get out. As you get older it's easier to say no to what your friends are doing. I have only a few TRUE friends. They aren't exactly like me, but they've been my friends forever, and they compeltely respect when I say no. If you can't find friend who are JUST like you..that's okay, just stay true to yourself, be that one who is going to be different, your friends can adjust.

3. GIVE YOUR HEART TO GOD

At this age, girls/boys want to give their hearts to EVERYONE, except the one who wants it most, God. I once was lost, but God found me. I gave him my heart and he healed me. There are struggles, and their will be struggles. Time's will get tough, your heart and mind WILL be confused, you will still need to figure things out on your own...just know when your on God's side everything is so much easier...the tought times almost seem so perfect. You know he is real when you can't help but smile and want to praise him through the toughest times. There's one place you can't go wrong, give your heart to him.

Hope these can help you as much as they have helped me!

Until next time!<3


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page